I Heart This!: Baking Soda & ACV Hair Rinse

6 Sep

Mmmm, time for a ACV rinse!

Ladies, ladies, ladies! I have found a hair secret that is amazing, the Baking Soda & Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse. I found it on YouTube, where I find a lot of my hair care info. Some work, some, not so much.

This one actually really worked for me. I had done the ACV rinse, without baking soda and it was good, but it had nothing on this.

I was excited and disgusted all at the same time by what was in my sink when I finished. The water was disgusting, I could not post the picture…we’re still getting to know each other ;). When I rinsed it out, my hair seemed blacker and softer.

I did it just as she did in the video, soaking it for about 10 minutes. SO much muck came out of my babies that I was shocked. I was especially shocked because I wash my hair often–once or twice a week. Having dreads, there is a stigma of your hair being dirty and I always try to dispel that myth.

Baking Soda Deep Clean ingredients:

(note: these ingredients have been tweaked to balance the ph levels when combining ACV and Baking Soda)

Large bowl of warm water
1/4 cup of baking soda
2tsp of lemon juice
1tsp of sea salt
3/4 cup of acv
Stir until all is well dissolved


*Side note: You can also use it as a paste on the hair and wash out.

I’ve had my locs for almost a year and I’m glad that I found it early on. I plan to do it every other  month, followed by a hot oil treatment to add back some moisture.

This works really well for loc’d folks and I think it should work for loose naturals…not too sure how it would benefit permed folk.

I love Chesalocs…I follow her YouTube channel….

Pros...

  1. A quick, deep clean
  2. All the ingredients are most likely already in your pantry
  3. No mystery ingredients, what you see is what you get
  4. Gives hair a wonderful shine
Cons…
  1. Can strip hair moisture. Its job is to get all the oil out, but a product of that is dry hair.
  2. Not sure if it will do anything for permed sistahs

If you try this, please let me know what you think!

